5 Best Tools for Running Multiple AI Coding Agents in Parallel (2026)
Key takeaways
- These apps run several coding CLIs at the same time. They manage the agents. They are not the agent.
- First is Offrun, a free Mac app that runs several agent CLIs in git worktrees.
- Conductor's cloud is $50 a month. Herdr runs on macOS, Linux, and Windows. Corgi and Claude Squad are terminal apps.
- Offrun is free, with no card. Conductor's local workspaces are $0. Herdr's runtime stays free. Corgi and Claude Squad do not state a price.
Tools for multiple AI coding agents are the apps that run several coding CLIs at the same time. For a free Mac app, start with Offrun. Conductor runs parallel coding agents locally on a Mac at $0, or in the cloud at $50 a month. Herdr is the free runtime for macOS, Linux, and Windows.
Corgi is the terminal multiplexer that shows status and token use. Claude Squad is the terminal app that puts each task in its own git workspace. The figures below are from vendor pages and public repos, checked on October 26, 2026. I have not used these products.
- Best for a free Mac app: Offrun.
- Best for a local Mac workspace or a cloud sandbox: Conductor.
- Best for Linux and Windows too: Herdr.
- Best for token use in the terminal: Corgi.
- Best for one git workspace per task: Claude Squad.
Updated November 5, 2026.
- Written for November 5, 2026. Vendor pages and public repos checked October 26, 2026. No hands-on testing.
- November 2, 2026: opened Paradev, agentmash, and Copilot Projects. They are under Left off. The five rows are unchanged.
Link to this sectionHow this list was chosen
An assistant drafted this from the vendors' own pages and repositories. I have not used Offrun, Conductor, Herdr, Corgi, Claude Squad, ThinkRail, Paradev, agentmash, or Copilot Projects. There is no hands-on test in this post.
Checked on October 26, 2026. Each tool section links the page the sentence comes from. When a page is silent, the line says "not stated". When two official pages disagree, both are quoted. Paradev, agentmash, and Copilot Projects were opened on November 2, 2026. They are under Left off. They did not change the five.
The five were picked on these criteria, in this order:
- The product manages several coding agents side by side. It is not itself the coding agent.
- A public price, or a page that says the product is free.
- One person can start it without a team plan.
- The page says how the tasks stay apart, or how you can tell which agent needs you.
- Whether the pages state MCP.
Affiliate programs did not change who is on the list or the order. No link in this post is an affiliate link.
Left off:
- ThinkRail. The README describes an IDE around the
picoding agent, with a git worktree per workspace, and MCP servers read frompi'smcp.json. The license on that README is Apache-2.0. Desktop builds listed there are macOS Apple Silicon, Windows x64, and Linux x64 and ARM64. Latest builds are v0.3.0-nightly.6 on October 25, 2026, and v0.2.0 on October 18, 2026 (UTC). It stays off this list because it is one agent inside an IDE, not a manager for several vendor CLIs. - Paradev, formerly Superset. The October 26, 2026 post says Superset is now Paradev, and that the company raised an $11.5M seed led by Union Square Ventures. The same post says every superset.sh link redirects to paradev.com. The homepage calls it one workspace for Claude Code, Codex, and any coding agent, with a Git worktree per task. The pricing page, opened November 2, 2026, lists Free at $0 for one user: local workspaces, the desktop app, and the CLI, with no card. Pro is $20 per user a month, or $16 billed yearly. The five above were closed on October 26. This check did not reopen that ranking, so Paradev is not a sixth row.
- agentmash. The homepage says it is one app for a team's coding agents, so each agent can see what the others are changing, and that the product is live on Product Hunt. The page does not date that launch. The updates page's newest entry is October 25, 2026. The pricing page, opened November 2, 2026, is $0 for up to two developers, then $20 per developer a month, or $16 billed yearly. The monthly Team price says the first month is free. It stays off this list because the product is for several people on one repository. This list is one person running several coding CLIs.
- GitHub Copilot Projects. The October 28, 2026 changelog says Copilot Projects are in public preview. The docs page says a project gives Copilot a goal, and Copilot coordinates the work across repositories, sessions, and recurring tasks. It stays off because those agents are Copilot's, inside the Copilot app. This list is for apps that run the CLIs you already have.
Link to this sectionComparison
The tool name stays in the first column while the other columns scroll.
| Tool | Best for | Starting price | Free tier | MCP support | AI models | Platforms | Open source/self-host | Standout feature | Main drawback | Agents it runs |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Offrun | A free Mac app that runs several agent CLIs in git worktrees | Free | Every feature. No card. You still pay the agent accounts | not stated | Bring your own accounts. A model list is not stated | Mac app. macOS 14 or later, Apple Silicon or Intel | not stated | A second agent can review a diff before you accept it | Mac only | Claude Code, Codex, Antigravity, Grok Build, Muse Code |
| Conductor | Local Mac workspaces for free, and cloud sandboxes at $50 a month | Free ($0) | Local Mac workspaces. Cloud, the API, and the mobile app are paid | Official hosted server, in beta, for cloud workspaces | Bring your own subscriptions and keys | Local workspaces on a Mac. Cloud and the mobile app on Pro and above | not stated | A hosted MCP server for cloud workspaces | Cloud, the API, and the mobile app start at $50 a month | Homepage and docs: Claude Code, Codex, Cursor, OpenCode |
| Herdr | A free terminal runtime on macOS, Linux, and Windows | Free | The runtime. A 6 Aug 2026 post says it stays free | not stated | not stated | macOS, Linux, and Windows | Apache-2.0 | Terminals keep running after you close the client | MCP is not documented | Claude Code, Codex, Cursor, OpenCode, Grok, and others |
| Corgi | A terminal multiplexer that shows status and token use | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | Site: macOS, Linux, WSL. README: Apple Silicon or Linux amd64 | MIT | Status, tokens, and rate limits for each agent | WSL support is unclear. | Claude Code, Codex, Pi, OpenCode |
| Claude Squad | A terminal manager with a git workspace per task | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | Terminal. Needs tmux and GitHub CLI. OS not stated | AGPL-3.0 | Each task gets its own git worktree | Named agents differ by page | README: Claude Code, Codex, Gemini, Aider |
Link to this sectionOffrun
Offrun is a free Mac app for running coding agents side by side. The FAQ on that page names Claude Code, Codex, Antigravity, Grok Build, and Muse Code, on the accounts you already have. Git worktrees keep their work apart.
A second agent can review a diff before you accept it. The same FAQ says peer review reads the diff and posts what it found. It does not change the code by itself.
The homepage says "Free. All of it." The download page lists the price as Free, for Apple Silicon and Intel Macs, with no card. The install doc says you need macOS 14 Sonoma or later. Offrun does not include the agents. It runs the CLIs already on the Mac: claude, codex, agy, grok, and muse. You still pay those providers.
Use it when the computer is a Mac and you want the manager itself to cost nothing. Skip it on Linux or Windows. MCP is not stated on the homepage, the install doc, or the connect-agents doc. A license is not stated.
Link to this sectionConductor
Conductor runs parallel coding agents locally on a Mac or in the cloud. The homepage leads with "Run a team of coding agents in the cloud." It says you can conduct from the desktop app, mobile, or the API, and it labels those macOS, iOS, and API.
The homepage and the docs introduction name Claude Code, Codex, Cursor, and OpenCode. Each task gets its own workspace, branch, files, terminal, diff, and review path. The worktrees doc says Conductor creates a git worktree for each workspace.
The pricing page lists Free at $0: local workspaces on your Mac, and you bring your own subscriptions and keys. Pro is $50 a month and adds Conductor Cloud, the Conductor API, the mobile app, and live collaboration with up to 5 Pro users. Teams is $60 a month per user. Enterprise is custom. Cloud workspaces are Pro, Teams, or Enterprise.
The same page says a cloud workspace is a Vercel sandbox in us-east-1, with 8 CPU cores and 16GB of RAM, on Amazon Linux 2023. There is no extra cloud fee right now. The page says usage-based pricing for cloud compute is planned.
Local sessions stop when the machine shuts off or the app closes. Cloud work continues with the app closed. Cloud chat is stored on Conductor's servers. Local messages go to the model provider, and the page says Conductor does not access those local inputs and outputs.
The page says Conductor holds a SOC 2 Type II attestation.
The MCP doc describes a hosted MCP server at https://api.conductor.build/mcp for managing cloud workspaces. It is in beta. You can sign in with OAuth, without pasting an API key. The API itself is listed on the Pro plan.
Use the free tier when the work can stay on the Mac. Use Pro when the agent has to keep going after the app closes. Skip Pro when $50 a month is the wrong bill for the manager. A license is not stated. The pricing page says you cannot bring your own cloud machines yet.
Link to this sectionHerdr
Herdr is a terminal runtime for the coding agents you already run. The homepage says each agent lives in its own terminal, and the work keeps going if you close the lid or the network drops.
The README says a background server keeps the terminals running when you close the client or lose SSH. After a restart it restores the layout and can resume supported sessions. The original processes do not survive that restart. Panes are marked working, blocked, or idle. Agents can drive it through a CLI and a socket API.
The README names Claude Code, Codex, Cursor, OpenCode, Grok, and the rest. It does not wrap those CLIs. Install is one binary for macOS, Linux, and Windows. The license file is Apache-2.0. A post on August 6, 2026 says the runtime stays free, and that the license had moved from AGPL to Apache-2.0. The Herdr Cloud waitlist page opened the same day did not list a price.
Use it when the agents have to stay up on more than a Mac, including a machine you reach over SSH. Skip it when you need a page that calls the socket API an MCP server. The homepage, the README, and the integrations doc did not mention MCP.
Link to this sectionCorgi
Corgi calls itself a terminal multiplexer for humans and agents. The homepage lists Claude Code, Codex, Pi, and OpenCode, and it says to use your existing accounts. It shows status as working, needs you, unread, or clear.
It has a section titled worktrees. That section does not explain the behavior. The line under the heading is "Fantastic trees and where to find them."
Features below come from the README. It says Corgi notices claude, codex, pi, or opencode in a pane. A table on that page marks status, activity summaries, context, tokens, and rate limits for all four. Subagents are marked for Claude Code, Codex, and OpenCode, and not for Pi. Multi accounts are marked for all except OpenCode. Processes keep running after you detach, in the same way tmux does. corgi --skill teaches the agents the interface. The license is MIT. Notification sounds taken from Herdr stay under Apache-2.0.
The homepage says macOS, Linux, and WSL. The README install line says macOS Apple Silicon or Linux amd64. Those two pages disagree. A price is not stated. MCP is not stated on the homepage or the README.
Use it when you want token use and rate limits in the same window as the agents, on a machine the README installs. Skip it when you need WSL to be named in the install instructions, or when you need a dollar price.
Link to this sectionClaude Squad
Claude Squad is a terminal app that manages several local agents in separate workspaces. The README says it manages Claude Code, Codex, and Gemini, and other local agents including Aider. Launch examples on that page are Codex, Aider, and Gemini. The default program is claude.
The project site says Claude Code, Codex, and Aider. The GitHub description says Claude Code, Codex, OpenCode, and Amp. The README's launch list is Claude Code, Codex, Gemini, and Aider. OpenCode and Amp are not on that list.
The README says each task gets its own git workspace, using tmux sessions and git worktrees, so the sessions do not share one checkout. You can review changes before applying them. Prerequisites are tmux and the GitHub CLI. Install is Homebrew or a shell script. The license is AGPL-3.0. A price is not stated. MCP is not stated. The GitHub API, checked October 26, 2026, showed the default branch last pushed on August 20, 2026. An operating system list is not stated.
Use it when you want one terminal window and a worktree per task, and AGPL-3.0 is a license you can accept. Skip it when the agent list has to be the same on every official page.
Link to this sectionHow to choose
Pick Offrun when the computer is a Mac and the manager has to stay free. You already pay for the agent accounts. Skip it on Linux or Windows.
Pick Conductor when the work has to keep going after you close the app. That is a cloud workspace, and the pricing page puts it on Pro at $50 a month. The free tier is the right row when the work can stop with the app. The hosted MCP server is for those cloud workspaces, and the doc marks it beta.
Pick Herdr when the same runtime has to run on macOS, Linux, and Windows, and the session has to survive a closed laptop or a dropped SSH connection. The August 6, 2026 post is the page that says the runtime stays free. Skip it when the requirement is an MCP server. Their docs don't mention MCP.
Pick Corgi when the useful part is the status line and the token readout, inside a terminal you can detach. The README's install line covers macOS and Linux. WSL is listed only on the homepage.
Pick Claude Squad when a git worktree per task, in one terminal, is the whole job, and you can live with AGPL-3.0. Read the README before you count on OpenCode or Amp. The repository description names them. The README's launch list does not.
The part that still sits with a person is which commands an agent is allowed to run. That limit is the subject of commands an agent should not run and how to secure OpenClaw on a cloud machine.
Link to this sectionWhich manager for multiple AI coding agents?
Match the app to the computer and the bill. Offrun is the free Mac app. Conductor's cloud plan is $50 a month, and the free tier stays on the Mac. Herdr is the free runtime for macOS, Linux, and Windows.
Link to this sectionFAQ
Link to this sectionWhat is free if I want several coding agents on a Mac?
Offrun. The homepage says "Free. All of it." The download page lists the price as Free, with no card. You still pay for Claude Code, Codex, or the other CLIs it runs. Conductor's local Mac workspaces are also $0. Conductor Cloud is $50 a month.
Link to this sectionDoes Conductor support MCP?
Yes, for cloud workspaces. The MCP doc, read on October 26, 2026, describes a hosted server at https://api.conductor.build/mcp. It is in beta. Cloud workspaces are on Pro, Teams, or Enterprise. Offrun, Herdr, Corgi, and Claude Squad: their docs don't mention MCP.
Link to this sectionWhich of these publish a license?
Herdr is Apache-2.0. Corgi is MIT, and some of its sounds stay Apache-2.0. Claude Squad is AGPL-3.0. Offrun and Conductor do not publish a license.
Link to this sectionWhich one keeps working after I close the laptop?
Conductor Cloud, on Pro or above. The pricing page says the agent keeps working if you close the app, and that local sessions stop. Herdr's README says a background server keeps the terminals running when you close the client, including over SSH. After a machine restart, the original processes do not survive. Herdr restores the layout and can resume supported sessions.
Link to this sectionDo these tools include the coding agent?
No. Each one runs agents you install and sign in to yourself. Offrun's install doc says it does not include the agents. Conductor's pricing page says you bring your own subscriptions and keys. Herdr's README says it does not wrap or replace the CLIs.
Find me on X.
New posts show up on X.